Donating my hair

The Little Princess Trust is a charity that provides free wigs made from real hair for children who have lost their hair due to cancer treatment and other illnesses.

So I saw a few of my favourite youtubers do this and a few girls from my school too. At first I was thinking “that’s an amazing thing to do! But I’d never get enough courage to do that!” Mainly because I had an unfortunate hair cut back in year 7 (when I was 11/12 for those of you non UK folks.) I looked like a beach ball with hair, not much of it though. It was down to my chin and I had chubby round face, not a good combo. Since then for the five years following, I never went to a hairdressers, I trimmed my hair myself after about four years of not touching my hair. It was down to my hips, then it got a bit bothersome so I cut off 10cm, wasn’t too bad. It was then at around waist length ish.

Then last week, I decided that I wanted to cut my hair. Like really cut it. After scouring through Pinterest and YouTube for hours, I told my parents about my decision and they both instantly agreed that I wasn’t allowed to do it myself. Ugh. So I actually called up and made an appointment, by this point I was buzzing and I still had about three days to wait until my actual appointment. During this time I thought that if I was cutting this much off, I may as well help someone out by donating it! So I printed out the lil form from the Little Princess Trust website, it only asks for your name, age (optional), email, how much hair you’re roughly donating and the date you posted it. I’ll leave a link to the website here.

I ended up donating 12 inches (about 30.5cm) I’ll add in before and after pictures of course, they’re so satisfying to look at aren’t they? Looking at these pictures now, my hair looked so uneven before, whoops…

imag0881_burst001.jpg

imag0891.jpg

 

Until next time!

Twitter: @Wolfishdelight

 

5 thoughts on “Donating my hair

  1. This is such a thoughtful, kind thing to do. I had intensive cancer treatment at the age of 4 months, and then again aged 5-6. Although it never came to it, there was a strong possibility that my hair wouldn’t grow back. It is so heartwarming to read posts like this, and know that people like you are out there ๐Ÿ™‚ XX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

